Coming to an end…I shy away from pain

It feels like it was just yesterday that I packed my life in one luggage bag and a carry on and set for a new adventure to DC. Now I have more to carry with me than I anticipated.

I am not talking in a materialistic sense, rather the friendships I have built with the people on the streets, the suffering from the hardships they face, the social injustice, the pain. I took on a year of service because I figured what better way to answer God’s calling than by doing mission work. Really embracing and living the message, “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me” (Matthew 25: 35-40). Living by this message I have accepted now more than ever that it is really hard to do. Its not hard to help others, what is hard is the after math. Quite a few of homeless individuals have become part of my life and now I have to say good bye. I have felt what they feel and carry the burden they carry of facing social injustice.

Of course I went into this year of service, knowing I would come out off it a changed person. One thing however has not changed, that is me shying away from pain. Saying good-bye is hard. I feel pain when I tell my buddies I will be leaving Capitol Hill Group Ministry at the end of July. The relationships I have established and solely focused on for the past year are coming to an end. Its not to say though that I am not enjoying the last few weeks I have with them. I sit on the floor and listen to amazing, funny stories that come with living in the streets. It doesn’t take away the pain but helps me cope with the uneasiness of having to say good bye.

It will be and has been hard to say good bye. I will carry more than what arrived with but, all this experience has motivated me to keep on fighting the system. It has motivated me to complete my next task in life. (This is another story to tell). I thank you for your time in reading my blog and will follow up soon with another story to share.

Thank you family and friends for your prayers!

 

 

One thought on “Coming to an end…I shy away from pain

Leave a Reply

