Orientation in D.C.

20150831_18003931 August 2015- The YAV’s along with Sarah our coordinator rode along the National Mall.  Well, when I got to the Lincoln memorial I had a better view of the National Monument and started thinking about what it means to be a part of this nation…The National Monument and various other National Memorials are supposed to signify unity, freedom, nationalism, etc…but does it really stand for that when America still has homelessness, poverty, and food desserts. Living in our nations capital, it is interesting to see how divided the city is depending on income. I am looking forward to learning more about what it means to be a part of a nation that stands for freedom yet again has many who do not have the privileges that stand for that. D.C is a powerful state and i am interested to see how the power plays out here in the capital.

20150901_222055

1 September 2015-After spending the day riding the bus, the YAV’s went for a night of poetry at BusBoys. BusBoys and Poets is a restaurant/bookstore (with many vegan options which is great for me :D). On Tuesday nights they have open mic, where everyday folks express themselves through poetry. Through their art many of the participants expressed anger and frustration toward the state of race relations in the U.S today and throughout history. I love the background of the stage because the pictures mean to me revolution and time of change. The Dalai Lama-Waiting, Ghandi-Watching, Martin Luther King Jr.-Dreaming and Mandala. They are and were influential individuals that give me hope for a peaceful future.

20150902_094018

2 September 2015- I walked to the National Shrine of Immaculate Conception. It was a time of reflection and prayer for me. I am and was in awe by this church. I  have so many questions about it because it has so much history and art, its incredible. This picture is one of my favorites, the story of creation. I have no words to describe how beautiful it is.

3 September 2015- I volunteered for the organization S.O.M.E- So Others May Eat-.  SOME serves breakfast and lunch for the homeless and it is open 365 days a year no matter what the weather conditions may be. The YAV’s helped serve breakfast. I was glad to serve because I got to meet and talk to some guests that I will potentially get to talk to. “Homelessness” is a word that creates a barrier/boundary and sometimes prevents me to see them as a human beings. I am excited to break that barrier and to learn about what it means to have unconditional love.

After all…

May Christ dwell in your hearts through faith, and may charity be the root and foundation of your life. Thus you will be able to grasp fully, with all the holy ones, the breadth and length and height and depth of Christ’s love, and experience this love which surpasses all knowledge, so that you may attain to the fullness of God himself. Ephesians 3:17-20

Thanks for your support and continous prayers, I really appreciate them!

#YAV1516 #youngadultvolunteers #pcusa

Leave a Reply

